•  CAASPP - Smarter Balanced Assessments Information


    The Smarter Balanced Assessment System (Smarter Balanced Fact Sheet for Parent) , utilizes computer based tests and performance tasks that allow students to show what they know and are able to do. It is based on the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) for English language arts/literacy (ELA) and mathematics and has three components designed to support teaching and learning throughout the year: the summative assessments, the interim assessments, and the Digital Library of formative assessment tools.

    2018 - 2019 California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) System

    CAASPP Description - CalEdFacts

    Science Assessments

    English Language Arts/Literacy (ELA) & Mathematics Summative Assessments

    Spanish Reading/Language Arts

    • California Science Test
    • Smarter Balanced
    • California Spanish Assessment
    • California Alternative Assessment
    • California Alternative Assessments

    Parent Guides

    Parent Guides to the Smarter Balanced Summative Assessments

    Sample Items

    Practice Tests

    Understanding Scores

    Test Score Guide

    Find out how to interpret your child's overall score and claim scores for English Language arts

    and mathematics.  Check of the sample test items to better understand the types of questions

    your child may have encountered.  The Web page will provide explanation of:

    • the knowledge and skills expected at each grade level.
    • how performance by claim and subject is reported.
    • sample items by achievement level.


     ELPAC: Background about the English Language Proficiency Assessments for California: 

    The English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC) is the successor to the California English Language Development Test (CELDT). Beginning in 2017–18, the ELPAC is the required state test for English language proficiency (ELP) that must be given to students whose primary language is a language other than English. The California Department of Education (CDE) expects to be fully transitioned from the CELDT to the ELPAC as the state's assessment of ELP by 2018–19.

    State and federal law require that local educational agencies administer a state test of ELP to eligible students in kindergarten (or year one of a two-year kindergarten program, sometimes referred to as “transitional kindergarten”) through grade twelve (ages 3-21). The ELPAC is aligned with California’s 2012 English Language Development Standards , and is comprised of two separate ELP assessments:

    1. Initial ELPAC—an initial identification of students as English learners
    2. Summative ELPAC—an annual summative assessment to measure an English learner's progress in learning English and to identify the student's ELP level