• International Baccalaureate (IB) Program

    (candidate school*)

Students in IB class
  • Overview

     

    Skyline High School seeks to build an International Baccalaureate (IB) program that creates a better world through a high-quality international education. Skyline is currently an IB candidate school* for the IB Middle Years Program (MYP) covering grades 6-10. IB-MYP is a curriculum framework with emphasis on critical and reflective thinking and communication, intercultural understanding, and connections between academic disciplinary studies and the real world. MYP culminates in a 10th grade personal project and certificate of completion of the program.* Students interested in the IB-MYP must apply.

     

    The IB Difference

     

    The IB's programmes are different from other curricula because they:

    • encourages students of all ages to think critically and challenge assumptions;
    • develop independently of government and national systems, incorporating quality practice from research and our global community of schools;
    • encourages students of all ages to consider both local and global contexts; and
    • develop multilingual students.

     

    IB Benefits

     

    • Emphasizes IB Learner Profile: principled, communicator, knowledge, thinkers, reflective, risk takers, caring, inquirers, balanced, and open-minded; gives all students a global perspective
    • Student-centered learning (inquiry-based; self-motivated) puts the learner in the driver’s seat to direct their own understanding of important topics
    • Standards-based grading using skills rubrics (MYP criteria) not points for completion of work (gives more accurate sense of student progress)
    • Flipped classroom & project-based learning (less busy work and direct instruction during class)
    • Prepares students for more rigorous and challenging coursework in their 11th and 12th grade years (pathways, Diploma Program or Career Program)

     

    Course Progression

     

    Freshman Year:

    • English 1 - Survey of World Literature
    • Geometry
    • AP World History
    • Biology
    • World Language: Spanish, French or Mandarin
    • Physical Education
    • Computer Science Principles 

     

    Sophomore Year: (proposed schedule)

    • English - American Literature
    • Algebra 2/Math Analysis (Compression Course)
    • AP US History
    • Chemistry or AP Chemistry
    • World Language
    • AP Computer Science or Elective
    • PE (Students who play a sports can choose PE Independent Study as an 8th period)
    • Elective (if taken PE Independent Study instead of PE)
  • Faculty

      

    shane.durkan@ousd.org  

    Shane Durkan shane.durkan@ousd.org

    Geometry

     

    carlisa.johnson@ousd.org

    Carlisa Johnson carlisa.johnson@ousd.org

    Geometry

     

    maki.kasai@ousd.org

    Maki Kasai maki.kasai@ousd.org

    Biology

     

    michael.knox@ousd.org

    Michael Knox michael.knox@ousd.org

    English

     

    heather.merovich@ousd.org

    Heather Merovich heather.merovich@ousd.org

    AP World History

     

    xiaojie.zhang@ousd.org

    Xiaojie Zhang xiaojie.zhang@ousd.org

    Alegebra 2

    Math Analysis/Compression

CLOSE