• August 25, 2020 

      Dear Oakland Community,

       

      Due to shelter-in-place, all work permit applications for Oakland students will be processed electronically. Students must initiate the work permit application through this form.

       

      All school sites are processing their own permits during the school year. Please refer to this table and follow-up with questions directly with your school contact:

       

      School

      Point Person

      Point Person’s email address

      R. Bunche Academy

      Evelyn Delgado

      evelyn.delgado@ousd.org

      Madison Park Academy

      Yanira Velazquez

      yanira.velaquez@ousd.org

      Oakland Tech

       

      Muanglium Saechao

      Terrance Holliday

      muanglium.saechao@ousd.org

      terrance.holliday@ousd.org 

      Oakland High School

      Gayle Fake

      gayle.fake@ousd.org

      Oakland International High School

      Dola Abdulla

      dola.abdulla@ousd.org

      Skyline High School

      Alisa Douglas

      alisa.douglas@ousd.org

      Dewey Academy

      Michel McKnight

      michell.mcknight@ousd.org

      Castlemont

      Samantha Odom

      samantha.odom@ousd.org

      Fremont 

      Claudia Lara

      claudia.lara@ousd.org

      MetWest

      Jessica Arechiga

      jessica.arechiga@ousd.org

      Life Academy

      Ronald Towns

      ronald.towns@ousd.org

      CCPA

      Amy Boyle

      amy.boyle@ousd.org

      Community Day

      Robert White, Jr.  

      robert.whitejr@ousd.org

      Street Academy

      Robert Young

      robert.young@ousd.org

      Rudsdale & Sojourner Truth

      Sheryl Thompson

      sheryl.thompson@ousd.org

      McClymonds

      Audrey Wade

      audrey.wade@ousd.org

      Rudsdale Newcomer

      Henry Sales-Hernandez

      henry.saleshernandez@ousd.org

       

      As of June 30, 2020, OUSD is not processing work permits for Charter and Private schools. If you have questions or need support in this transition, please contact Greg Cluster at gregory.cluster@ousd.org. Please click here to reference the Oakland Charter and Private School Work Permit Directory.

       

      OUSD will process work permits during the period of school closures. However, the work permit application process will take place electronically via electronic forms rather than via hard copies or PDFs. Due to Shelter-in-Place in the context of Covid-19, OUSD's Legal Department requires employers to complete a Covid Amendment, which certifies compliance with the Essential Services and Hygiene Requirements defined by the Alameda County Public Health Department. The required employer Covid Amendment is in the application linked below.

      After receiving an offer of employment:

      • The student initiates this form. Note that the student must be the initiator, not a guardian or employer. The student needs her/his guardian email and employer email to complete this step. Once the student completes her/his section, s/he routes it to the guardian, after which it gets routed to the employer.
      • The Linked Learning Office reviews the completed forms and, if appropriate, routes to the school staff person listed above. School staff review and process applications, after which they email the completed work permit to the student’s email address.
      • The student keeps an electronic copy of the work permit, and forwards a copy to the employer’s email address, so that the employer can also keep a copy of the work permit.

       

      Staff

      Role

      Email

      Edith Gambrell

      Central Staff Lead

      workpermits@ousd.org

      Greg Cluster

      Work-Based Learning Coordinator

      gregory.cluster@ousd.org

      Rebecca Lacocque

      Director

      rebecca.lacocque@ousd.org

CLOSE
CLOSE